Ladies & Gentlemen – Hold Fast is honored to present to you The Theatre Bizarre Orchestra’s second release, Dance with the Devil!

This collaboration between Detroit’s masked jazz orchestra and the ladies who tease brings you amazing record for your listening pleasure that is also a DO-IT-YOURSELF manual for bringing out the burlesquer in you!

The truly a unique and remarkable recording, captured live at Detroit’s legendary Scarab Club, fuses the mythology of Detroit’s annual Theatre Bizarre with lessons for young and old, from Hall of Famers and current practitioners, into the art of burlesque.

This album is must for fans of smoking hot jazz and seductive sizzling dance. Beyond cabaret/traditional jazz, this is a must for those who appreciate the steamer side of the midway. The record’s extensive liner noted include tips and suggestions from amazing burlesque queens Roxi D’Lite, Julie Atlas Muz, Musette the “Mistress of Mischief”, Darlinda Just Darlinda, and Lushes LaMoan. The record also begins with the voice of a legend – Burlesque Hall of Fame Inductee Toni Elling.

Beyond the sounds, this album’s art is presented in a beautiful, limited, hand numbered edition rendered by Theatre Bizarre’s mastermind & designer, John Dunivant.

Dance with the Devil is available in three editions totaling only 500 pieces in this first pressing.

The Theatre Bizarre Orchestra

Joshua James (band leader) – alto sax, conductor

Justin Jozwiak – alto sax, clarinet

Jim Holden – tenor sax, clarinet

Mark Kieme – bari sax, clarinet, bass clarinet

Paul Finkbeiner – trumpet

Ken Ferry – trumpet

John Paxton – trombone

Chris Smith – trombone, sousaphone

TJ Wolfgram – alto sax, clarinet, trombone, sousaphone

Keith Kaminski – baritone sax (“My Girl’s Pussy”)

Rod McDonald – guitar

Michael Zaporski – piano, keyboard

Shannon Wade – upright bass

Peyton Miller – vibraphone

Van Hunsberger – drums

Pete Siers – drums (“My Girl’s Pussy”)

Tracy Kash – vocals

Harry Hovakimian – violin

Produced by Joshua James

Engineered by David Feeny

All music and lyrics written by Joshua James except:

“Ms. Elling’s Blues” – lyrics by Toni Elling; “Rise Up Bones” – music and lyrics by Jo Serrapre; “Black and Tan Fantasy” and “Caravan” – music by Edward “Duke” Ellington; “Egyptian Fantasy” – music by Sidney Bechet; “My Girl’s Pussy” – music and lyrics by Harry Roy.

All songs arranged and orchestrated by Joshua James except “Rise Up Bones,” arranged by Tracy Kash.

All songs recorded on April 15, 2017, live at the Scarab Club, Detroit except “My Girl’s Pussy,” recorded at Tempermill Studios, Ferndale, MI on March 10, 2017. Additional overdubs recorded on June 8 and 12, 2017 at Tempermill Studios, Ferndale, MI.

Live recording by Cait Ash and Kirk Scarbrough.

All additional material recorded by David Feeny.

Mixed and mastered by David Feeny.

Vinyl Manufactured at Archer Recording Pressing, Inc. – Detroit, Michigan

Share This