Ladies, Gentlemen and Children of All Ages – Hold Fast is honored to present to you M.C. Nightshade & the Theatre Bizarre Orchestra’s first release, Carpe Noctem.

This collaboration between David J. aka M.C. Nightshade (founder of Bauhaus & Love and Rockets) and some of the finest cabaret jazz musicians Detroit has to offer.

Truly a unique and remarkable recording, imagine, if you will, a character infused with great spirit of the Weimar Republic’s Kurt Weill blended with a haunted Tom Waits having a nervous breakdown reconciling the sounds of New Orleans haunted by the gothic pitches of Northampton encased in the broken mirror dark carny mythology of Detroit’s annual interactive art exhibition known as Theatre Bizarre.


This album is must of fans of David J’s work, lovers of cabaret or traditional jazz and/or those who appreciate the darker side of the arts – be it Halloween, carnivals or the figures, and disfigures, who haunt the midway.

Hear M.C. Nightshade’s latest original works as well as hauntingly rendered covers of songs by Beck, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, and, David J’s legendary band, Bauhaus.

Beyond the sounds, this album is presented in a beautiful gatefold, limited, hand numbered edition was rendered by Theatre Bizarre’s mastermind & designer, John Dunivant.

Carpe Noctem is available in two editions totaling only 500 pieces in this first pressing.

Produced by David J/Joshua James

Engineered by David Feeny

All songs arranged by Joshua James

All songs recorded by David Feeny at Tempermill Studios in Ferndale, MI EXCEPT “Inside the Cooch Tent,” recorded by Joshua James at Studio M in Orchard Lake, MI

Mastered by David Feeny

All songs on “Carpe Noctem” performed by M. C. Nightshade (AKA David J) & the Theatre Bizarre Orchestra

All songs on the bonus 7” performed by M. C. Nightshade (AKA David J) & the Planet D Nonet

David J (AKA M.C. Nightshade) – vocals



Joshua James (band leader) – alto, soprano, bari saxes, clarinet, toy piano

Justin Jozwiak – alto sax, clarinet

Jim Holden – tenor sax

Mark Kieme – bari sax, bass clarinet, flute, piccolo

Paul Finkbeiner – trumpet

Ken Ferry – trumpet

John Paxton – trombone

Chris Smith – trombone, sousaphone, bass harmonica

*TJ Wolfgram – trombone, sousaphone (“Inside the Cooch Tent” only)

Rod McDonald – guitar, banjo

Michael Zaporski – piano, keyboard

Shannon Wade – upright bass

Van Hunsberger – drums, percussion

Share This